I’m Doomed

Christ, what next?

Diesel fumes cause lung cancer, the World Health Organization declared Tuesday, and experts said they were more carcinogenic than secondhand cigarette smoke.

The W.H.O. decision, the first to elevate diesel to the “known carcinogen” level, may eventually affect some American workers who are heavily exposed to exhaust. It is particularly relevant to poor countries, where trucks, generators, and farm and factory machinery routinely belch clouds of sooty smoke and fill the air with sulfurous particulates.

 

No shit, Sherlock.

Anyone who has to sit and huff noxious clouds of diesel exhaust for any length of time could have told ya that shit ain’t good for ya.

 

Just add it to the list of things that should have killed me ten times over.

I have smoked for over forty years, abused drugs back in the day, abused alcohol for over forty years, been a mechanic, both gas and diesel, have been using carcinogenic chemicals in my work for thirty years, been exposed to asbestos, the list goes on and on and on.

I must be one tough bastard, either that or I am so rotten inside I am actually a zombie and just don’t know it.

 

Shit, I used to wash my hands in the solvent tank.

 

Meh, it ain’t killed me yet.

Something is going to kill my ass someday, I damn sure ain”t going to be one of those idiots who do everything they can to stay healthy like run, jog, eat weeds and no meat and still fall over fucking dead as a door nail anyway.

This isn’t a practice run kids, ya only live once, get out there and mix it up.

4 thoughts on “I’m Doomed

  1. E-yup. If I add up all the various average life shorteners that affect me- drinking, smoking, diabetes, sedentary lifestyle, etc., it turns out that, on average, I’ve been dead for like 25 years now. So I might as well keep on enjoying it.

  2. I used to clean the asphalt, heavy crude, or other nasty stuff off my hands or whatever with toluene. Shit works great. And I still clean my hands in the varsol tank… Fuck it, who wants to live forever, I’d rather die before I’m too crippled to do anything.

Leave a Reply

