What’s That, Ya Say?

I went and had a hearing test done today after work, part of the process of being hired permanently after my 90 day double secret probation is over, hope hope.

It came out just like I thought it would.

I told the nice lady I was deaf in one ear and can’t hear out of the other.

I was close.

Turns out I do have some issues, she was quite concerned.
I told ya, nice lady. Cute too.

It seems I really don’t hear so good out the right side but the left is considerably worse.

She told me if and when I get medical to go see a doctor.

Like that is going to happen anytime soon.

She asked me if that when someone is talking to me and their is background noise if it sounded like they were mumbling.

Bingo, hit that right on the head.

It’s especially bad at work because their is tons of background noise and I have to wear ear plugs to boot.

I can’t hear shit when people talk to me.

This has been an ongoing problem for me for several years and I have to admit, I do a lot of lip reading.

I just have to lean in and tell them to speak up.

That and saying “What” to the point it is embarassing.

I’m pretty sure it isn’t going to affect my employment though, it is mainly a benchmark to compare with later.

They seem to like me pretty good, I had coveralls ordered the second week I was there and another guy had been there four months and hadn’t.
Pissed him off.

Now, he has been there five months and he has seen the sheet with his name on it for the same hearing test on the bosses desk for a week and they haven’t given it to him yet.

I’m liking my odds here.

I have never missed a day or been late, thank the good lord.

I came close this morning.
I went out to get in The Beast and it was iced up good.
Being an old Ford truck, it has a heater core the size of a postage stamp and those old bastards were notorious for being cold blooded.
I finally dug in my ass pocket and dug out my debit card to scrape the windshield with.
Then I had to stop for gas (a whopping nine MPG) and watch for ice to get there.

It finally started defrosting the windshield after about four miles and never did really get warm.

That was my day, how was yours?

Leave a Reply

