I Haz Garden

And a blister, and my lower back is SCREAMING at me!

It ain’t much, one row so far.
Several hot peppers, two kinds of tomatoes and a few herbs.

I had to start from scratch, digging up the established lawn with a shovel and a mattock.
There is a small yard behind Chez Rat Hole and with the price of groceries following the same trajectory as the Space Shuttle, I figure I could put in a small garden and not have to mow so much useless grass.

My neighbor has a pretty well established garden he has been working on for several years and already has volunteer potatoes coming up with out having to lift a finger.
We have a late growing season here, this is he 31st of May, one day before June.
Earlier this month we had snow and some wicked assed hail storms.
I figure I have at least till the end of September and probably clear into October for a growing season. Most everything will grow in 3 months so I have lots of time.

I have a whole buttload of digging in front of me but if I am doing that I ain’t sitting on my ass in a bar, win, win.

10 thoughts on “I Haz Garden

  1. good for ya, busted. Any lawn is Too Much Lawn. Turn it all into garden! Put newspaper down on the sod you want to kill and next year it should be easier to turn over and thus have an enlarged garden. And grow some catnip *g*

  2. Great Busted, everyone needs a Victory garden. Be sure and grow those that are on the expensive list at the storebut any good veggies are just great fresh from YOUR garden!

  3. The most expensive thing at my local supermarket is bellpeppers, which are also a necessity of a damned good stirfry. So make sure you put some of them bad boys in!

    As for me, I live in an apartment, and likely will shortly live in a condo, so this isn’t exactly a possibility for me. Besides, I’m away from my iceberg too much to properly care for a garden. Though with fuel prices being the way they are, that’s not likely to be the case for much longer, I see no way that my company can continue to send me places when airfares have *doubled* over the past two years to many of the places we serve…

    - Badtux the Migratory Penguin

  4. ‘Knucks, cuz yer one of ‘us’ out here on the lunatic blog fringe (hell yer one of them more than I am, but I digress) I’m gonna share the secret handshake, decoder ring AND, save you work, time, staff and money.

    Ready?

    http://www.squarefootgardening.com/

    Just look at the pictures. Build two foot tall box. Pour in soil from store.
    Use heavy twine for one foot squares. Plant in the squares.

    Start the compost pile, that’s a MUST for long term sustainability.
    And if you have a southern exposure, that’s GOOD, for more sunlight.

    Then yer gonna wanna run drip lines to conserve water.

    Read up about the natural ways to combat leafhoppers, hornworms, and other bugs that eat your vegetables. If you have deer, you’ll HAVE to put up wire mesh to cover it all.

    I”m tellin ya, diggin up turf and plowin under sod and such is hard work.

    Build the boxes, buy the dirt and soils, amend it like it says in the link, and do the compost pile thang.

    You’ll be eating LOTS of fresh stuff your first year. Screw the hassle of pullin up sod. Just put down cardboard or paper, and fill the box and mark it off and plant stuff.

    Welcome to the greenery. It’s purdy. *G*

  5. Um, ‘Knucks, from the main page, I suggest you go to How To, for details on buying the mulch mix at stores.

    Then, look at all the purdy pictures, again, for inspiration on what might be best for you. I’m a cave dweller, and I’ve only got a small 2′ x 12′ strip that I dug up, amended, and in this our third year, squared it off and planted as suggested, and it’s looking good. I also have about 45 assorted 5 gal buckets and pots, 3 gal pots, one gal pots and smaller for MORE tomatoes, and all my herbs. Real vegetables aren’t practical with the limited space I have, so no squash.

    Some bell peppers, some hot peppers, LOTS of basil to make pesto all summer long, two rosemary bushes in 5 gal buckets that are now two years old and two foot tall. I LOVE rosemary. All the other herbs . . . sage, purple sage, different kinds of basils, oregano, thyme, lemon thyme. Arugula, damn I’m fallling in love with arugula it’s so nutty and oily!! Our first year for it, and wowser salad fixins and even saute dishes are lively with this stuff!!

    Garlic chives, chives, green onions. And my wife’s 4 strawberry plants cuz she gets about 20 strawberries every year and loves it and it’s HERS!! *G* And some flowers she does in pots.

    For a little cave, with not so much patio room in front and a bit more in back, we get a lot of ‘maters, all our herbs for the summer (some carries over dried for a while in the winter). And, I DO get to grow and harvest herbs from about March thru December. ALMOST year round. Not so much frost here, if any. MY challenge is facing the 100F heat and the 90′s all summer long . . . some stuff don’t like that . . . *G*

    Have fun, sorry I went on forever.

  6. Um, one last suggestion. John Jeavons. A hoss gardener with a book or two that are EXCELLENT primers.

    http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&search-type=ss&index=books&field-author=John%20Jeavons&page=1

    I got internet pals in midwest, Nevada, and Oregon and Washington I fest with out here in CA twice a year with. They got homes, and they do these versions of French Intensive gardening, box gardening, whatever you want to call it.

    Between Mel Bartholomew and John Jeavons, yer set to get started.

    They eat real well. If only I had the space . . ;-)

Leave a Reply

